Thankful

I am so thankful for all of the goodness in my life, it’s hard to know where to begin.

But always with my family.  I have three kids who fill me up in ways I never could have imagined and a husband who supports me in every way possible.  They understand what I do and why I do it, and although one more crazy idea and they may jump ship, they are in it with me.

Yesterday I explained an Ansel Adams/Lewis Baltz exhibit at the Virginia Museum of Fine Art to Jonah, and he really got it.  California, conservationism, different ways to convey a similar message – and he was engaged and perceptive and curious.  Lila loves both sides of the camera, and is a mostly willing muse.  Sabine just smiles, and most days that’s all I need.  And Michael just sat through a four-hour photo geekfest with Susan Worsham and me with minimal eye-rolling.  He deserves his “saint” title.

Beyond my immediate family (and of course my parents, grandmothers, in-laws. . .), I have the most wonderful friend family.  I am thankful every day to the people who have known me for so long that being together feels like breathing.  These are the people who remind you who you really are, in good times and when things feel too intense to bear.  They bring me home and back to center.  Newer friends take me as I am and add sparkle to my days, and that’s a lot to be thankful for.

As cliche and lame as this is going to sound, I am thankful for photography.  Every. Single. Day.  I cannot believe I get to do something I love.  I get to make pictures, look at pictures, buy pictures and show pictures.  I get to be inspired and energized and motivated by art.  Holy shit.  That’s just awesome.

some images I love right now

I am thankful for the photography community both in Atlanta and at large.  The people I have met, the support I have received, the warmth, passion, love. . . it blows me away.  To think about everything I have done in the last year – moving and enlarging the gallery, the photo-related travel to New Orleans, Portland, San Francisco, DC, Boston, New York, CHINA!, starting The Ten, starting a Crusade – I know I would not have been able to keep the small measure of sanity I possess without a handful of key photo-world people.

So let’s go ahead and embarrass them, yes?  I am thankful for Amy Miller, my guardian angel and guidepost.  For Meghan Walter, the most organized, level-headed, over-working, non-complaining, team-playing, kind-hearted gallery manager on the planet.  For my assistant Sara whose video skills have rocked the Crusade and for my intern Beau, who is truly a prince among men.  For Bill Boling for being my Zen master and true friend.  For Lori Vrba for going with me to crazy and back, David Bram for tough love and support, Blue Mitchell for heart-on-the-sleeve talks, Laura Griffin for being solid and a damn good portrait photographer, and Jason Houston for getting it.  It takes a village to keep me together and brave, and I’ve got the best village around.

This next year promises to be exciting and rewarding and challenging and fun.  I can’t wait to keep moving forward, but I love stopping for a minute and thinking about where I am, how I got here, and all of the people in my life I am blessed to know.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful

  1. Well written Jennifer.

  2. I’m glad to be in your village 😉

Leave a Reply

